August 05, 2015

Wyden, Senate Democrats Call for “Do Not Disturb” Technology to Block Telemarketing and Unwanted Robocalls

Unwanted telemarketing calls and texts are the number one consumer complaint to the FCC

Washington, DC – Today, Senators Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Edward Markey (D-Mass.) and six Senate Democrats urged the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to help consumers block unwanted telemarketing calls on both landline and wireless phones.  In a letter sent today to the FCC, the Senators call on the FCC to work with phone companies to help facilitate the development and deployment of “Do Not Disturb” technology, which the Senators say should be offered to all consumers at no additional cost. The Senators also urge the FCC to implement a public awareness campaign to inform consumers of their right to halt any robocall at any time.

In June, the FCC voted to allow telephone companies to develop and offer “Do Not Disturb” robocall blocking technology to consumers. The FCC also approved rules that require autodialers to immediately honor all consumer requests to stop calls, regardless of whether those requests are made verbally or in writing. Unwanted telemarketing calls and texts are the number one consumer complaint to the FCC, which received more than 215,000 complaints in 2014 alone.

“Consumers have made it clear they do not want these calls and texts to invade their privacy and disrupt their lives,” write the Senators in the letter. “The FCC and carriers should disseminate resources widely that explain how consumers can prevent unwanted robocalls and robotexts on both wireless and landline phones. This information should be presented in a simple, transparent and easily accessible manner through a public awareness raising campaign.”

A copy of the Senators’ letter to the FCC can be found HERE 

Senators signing the letter are Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Edward Markey (D-Mass.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Jeff Merkley (D. Ore.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Al Franken (D-Minn.) and Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.).