April 14, 2009

Wyden Announces Statewide Committee to Recommend Names for Two Federal Judgeships

Oregon Senator Extends Deadline, Wants Candidates from All Areas of the State

Portland, OR - Senator Ron Wyden announced today the names of 13 Oregonians who will serve on the Senator's Judicial Selection Committee, a committee that will recommend names to fill two federal district court judgeships for Oregon. Wyden also said that he is extending the deadline to May 4, 2009, in order to ensure that qualified candidates from throughout Oregon are given the opportunity to be considered.

The committee, selected by Wyden and Senator Jeff Merkley, will be chaired by Lou Savage, senior policy advisor at the Oregon Department of Consumer Business Services and a veteran of the federal judicial selection process. The committee is being asked to recommend names to replace two federal judges who are taking senior status, Judge Ancer I. Haggerty and Judge Garr M. King, both of the U.S. District Court for the District of Oregon.

"There are already some excellent applicants for these openings, but we would like to see even more qualified candidates put their names in for consideration," said Josh Kardon, Senator Wyden's chief of staff. "Senator Wyden wants the selection committee to have the broadest possible range of applicants from every corner of the state."

The other 12 members of the committee are: John Carr, West Linn; Paul W. Conable, Portland; R. Nicole Cordan, Portland; Steve Corey, Pendleton; Amy Edwards, Portland; Bethany Graham, Bend; Arthur Johnson, Eugene; Chip Lazenby, Portland; Tracy McGovern, Medford; Danny Santos, Salem; N. Robert Stoll, Portland; Kate Wilkinson, Eugene.