July 30, 2009

Wyden Announces Statewide Committee to Recommend Names for U.S. Attorney, U.S. Marshal Positions

Application Deadline is August 15

Portland, OR - Senator Ron Wyden announced today that 13 Oregonians have agreed to serve on a committee to review candidates and make recommendations for the District of Oregon's United States Attorney and the United States Marshal positions. The committee will convene in August to recommend candidates for these two positions. The deadline to apply for these positions is August 15. Those interested in the U.S. Attorney position should send a letter of interest and resume to USAttorneyOregon@gmail.com. Those interested in the U.S. Marshal position should send a letter of interest and resume to USMarshalOregon@gmail.com.

The 13 members of the selection committee appointed by Wyden and Senator Jeff Merkley include:

· Todd Anderson, Tillamook County Sheriff

· Mike Dugan, Deschutes County District Attorney

· Meg Garvin, attorney and Executive Director, National Crime Victim Law Institute

· Gene Hallman, Pendleton attorney

· Bob Hermann, Washington County District Attorney

· Andy Jackson, Coos County Sheriff

· Kellie Johnson, Multnomah County deputy district attorney

· Jennifer Kimble, Jefferson County attorney

· Angel Lopez, Multnomah County Circuit Court judge

· Donna Maddux, Attorney in Charge, Organized Crime Section, Oregon Department of Justice

· Barry Sheldahl, Assistant U.S Attorney (retired)

· Diana Simpson, Benton County Sheriff

· Jay Waterbury, Police Chief, The Dalles

Wyden announced July 13 that he and Senator Jeff Merkley were seeking the names of individuals interested in the two positions and would appoint a committee to make recommendations to Senator Wyden.