October 28, 2009

Wyden Forwards U.S. Attorney, U.S. Marshal Finalists to President Obama

Portland, OR - U.S. Senator Ron Wyden forwarded to President Obama today the names of the finalists chosen by a selection committee for U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshal for the State of Oregon.

The 13-member selection committee appointed by Wyden and U.S. Senator Jeff Merkley made their recommendations to Wyden after interviewing candidates and deliberating over last weekend. The committee chaired by Deschutes County District Attorney Mike Dugan was comprised of a diverse group of police, sheriff, district attorney, defense attorney, victim's rights, and judicial representatives from each region of the state.

The committee was charged with recommending three individuals for each position. There was a tie for third in the voting for U.S. Marshal. As a result, Wyden is forwarding all four names to the White House for that position.

The finalists recommended for the position of U.S. Attorney by the selection committee:

  • Clatsop County District Attorney Josh Marquis
  • Oregon Department of Justice Attorney Amanda Marshall
  • Acting U.S. Attorney Kent Robinson

The finalists recommended for the position of U.S. Marshal by the selection committee:

  • Lane County Sheriff Russell Burger
  • Portland Police Bureau Commander James Ferraris
  • Former Oregon State Police Captain Gerald Gregg
  • Former Gresham Police Chief Carla Piluso

The White House and Justice Department will now review the recommendations, and after further consultation with Sen. Wyden, President Obama will make a selection for each position. The nominees must be confirmed by the U.S. Senate once the President makes his nominations for each position.