October 26, 2017

Oregon Lawmakers Honor Portland Thorns’ Championship

Washington, DC  –  Oregon’s congressional delegation today honored the Portland Thorns’ recent National Women’s Soccer League Championship with matching Senate and House resolutions that also praised the franchise for inspiring young people to volunteer in their community.

The resolutions offered by Sens. Ron Wyden and Jeff Merkley and Reps. Suzanne Bonamici, Earl Blumenauer, Peter DeFazio, Greg Walden, and Kurt Schrader come after the Thorns won their second NWSL championship in five seasons.

The Thorns, led by NWSL Championship MVP Lindsey Horan, beat the North Carolina Courage 1-0 on Oct. 14 to win the title.

The resolutions noted the Thorns led the NWSL in attendance this past season, averaging 17,653 fans per home game at Providence Park. The team has led the league in home attendance each year since the NWSL began in 2013.

And the resolutions also recognized the team for holding community service events to inspire and involve young women and men in the Portland community, adding that “the success of the Portland Thorns soccer team will broaden an appreciation of athletics in young people and encourage Oregonians to engage in their communities.”

A copy of the Senate resolution is here and the House resolution is here


Related Files