August 03, 2018

Wyden, Merkley Introduce Resolution to Protect Fuel Economy Standards, Lower Greenhouse Gas Emissions

Washington, D.C. – Oregon’s U.S. Sens. Ron Wyden and Jeff Merkley this week joined their colleagues in introducing a resolution to protect states’ rights to set their own fuel and greenhouse gas emission standards.

While the Trump administration flippantly ignores the clear dangers of climate change, states like Oregon are leading the way with bold action to ensure an efficient, low-carbon energy future,” Wyden said. “This Trump decision is nothing short of an attack on states’ freedom to decide how they want to address the increasing challenges posed by climate change, putting access to clean water and clean air, and the health of our communities at risk.”

“The only way it makes sense to scrap these fuel standards is if you are determined to do the fossil fuel industry’s bidding, no matter the expense to the rest of America. Clearly, that’s what the Trump Administration is all about,” said Merkley. “President Trump is staking out dubious legal ground by seeking to revoke California’s decades-old right to establish pollution standards that protect its citizens, and those of the other 13 states, including Oregon, that have chosen to follow California’s stronger standard to protect public health. This Administration bends over backwards to give states ‘flexibility’ to allow more pollution, but when states want to protect public health and the environment, the Trump team moves to tie their hands. It’s not a coincidence.”

This resolution comes as the Trump administration this week announced a rollback of existing fuel efficiency and emissions standards implemented to reduce the impact of greenhouse gas emissions and climate change. The current rule protects the rights of states to set their own individual fuel and emissions standards.

Wyden and Merkley were joined by the following Senators in introducing the resolution: Kamala Harris, D-Calif., Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., Chuck Schumer, D-N.Y., Ed Markey, D-Mass., Sheldon Whitehouse, D-R.I., Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii, Chris Van Hollen, D-Md., Richard Blumenthal, D-Conn., Michael Bennet, D-Colo., Bernie Sanders, I-Vt., Tom Carper, D-Del., Maggie Hassan, D-N.H., Chris Coons, D-Del., Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y., Patty Murray, D-Wash., Tina Smith, D-Minn., Mazie Hirono, D-Hawaii, Maria Cantwell, D-Wash., Bob Menendez, D-N.J., Ben Cardin, D-Md., Jack Reed, D-R.I., Tom Udall, D-N.M., Catherin Cortez Masto, D-Nev., Tammy Baldwin, D-Wis., Dick Durbin, D-Ill., Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn., Bob Casey, D-Penn., Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H., Cory Booker, D-N.J., Patrick Leahy, D-Vt., Tammy Duckworth, D-Ill., and Bill Nelson, D-Fla.

Text of the resolution can be found here.